Welcome to Troops to Teachers-Texas!

Join us monthly for our live video briefings.

Click here for more information.

Job Opportunities

"This program operates under a grant from the DoD. Use of this logo does not imply or constitute endorsement of Dantes, the DoD, or any Military Department"


Front and Center
Honor Roll
The Journey
Education Agency (TEA)


Texas Approved Teacher Certification Areas

Teacher certifications in Texas, as established by the State Board for Educator Certification - SBEC (refer to the SBEC website for the most current information), are based primarily on four certification levels. The same subject area may be included in more than one level (Art, for example).

There have been updates to the
Core Subjects EC-6
and Core Subjects 4-8 Tests!

Please click HERE for the full document.

Posted on February 16, 2015

The following is a list of approved initial teacher certificates for Texas, as approved by SBEC rules.

Early Childhood - Grade 12 (All-Level):

  • Art
  • Health
  • Languages Other Than English (LOTE: American Sign Language, Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, Vietnamese)
  • Music
  • Physical Education
  • Special Education
  • Technology Applications
  • Theatre

Early Childhood - Grade 6:

  • Bilingual Core Subjects
  • Elementary Core Subjects
  • English as a Second Language Core Subjects

Grades 4-8:

  • Bilingual Core Subjects
  • Middle School Core Subjects
  • English as a Second Language Core Subjects
  • English Language Arts/Reading
  • English Language Arts/Reading/Social Studies
  • Math
  • Math/Science
  • Science
  • Social Studies

Grades 6-12:

  • Career and Technology Education (CATE: Agricultural Science & Technology, Agriculture, Food & Natural Resources, Business Education, Business & Finance, Family & Consumer Sciences [FCS] Composite, Health Science, Marketing Education, Trade & Industrial Education, Technology Education)
  • Physical Science
  • Science, Technology, Engineering & Math (STEM)

Grades 7-12:

  • Chemistry
  • English Language Arts/Reading
  • History
  • Journalism
  • Life Science
  • Math
  • Math/Physical Science/Engineering
  • Physics/Math
  • Science
  • Social Studies
  • Speech
  • Technology Applications

Grades 8-12:

  • Computer Science
  • Dance
  • Health Science Technology
  • FCS: Hospitality, Nutrition, and Food Services
  • FCS: Human Development & Family Studies

Free Hit Counter

Last updated on June 12, 2018

Contact the Webmaster for questions about this site.

2015© Texas Troops to Teachers